Wednesday 12 May 2010

Releases May 2010: AD:keY, Bodystyler, Frontal and Hymns of Sex

Spring fuels love and apparently endless energy for more anhalt ebm! Or, for a combination of both, see Hymns of Sex compilation below. The four albums mentioned here are about to be released this month (May), but many other bands have been working on new noteworthy individual tracks - watch out for a post about these very soon!

Electric Tremor brings two new releases. AD:keY are back with their second official album, which promises a mix of the old school Armageddon Dildos sound and anhalt EBM, which we have come to expect from this band. Those who long for more female vocals in this kind of music, watch out! The album is titled "That's It!" and will be released on 17. May. It features a remix by some entirely unknown very-underground band called Agonoize (maybe it plays polka influenced future pop? We really do not know), which Electric Tremor suggests you should give a cold shoulder to. If you are a "die-hard old school Tremorian" that is! (Which you are. If you are not, do more push-ups while blasting anhalt ebm! And drink Jäger!). AD:keY are also a part of the hard-stomping concert night in Rome 15. May, organized by Elektro Kommando. Spetsnaz and Klonavenus will also play at this event. 

The other release from ET is the Bodystyler box, which includes tons of new remixes of their older songs (by Tech Nomader, U.M.M., Bodylink, and Lokomotiv), as well as three new Bodystyler tracks. Strictly limited to only 50 copies, this even has a magnetic casette with exclusive tracks and remixes on it. For those who don't have the possibility to play this kind of historical item, there is an EP (separate to the box, that is: a different release) which includes all the material from the casette. Additionally, remember that Bodystyler is a part of the WGT warm-up in Leipzig on 20. May, a concert which also will include performances from Coinside and Camping Im Keller. Bodystylah!

Another anhalt ebm band Frontal has been silent for a couple of years, but they apparently have been busy creating new material - the new album "Alles Lüge" will be released on 28. May, and can already be pre-ordered. It has 10 new tracks, of which only one has been released before on a sampler from Electro Arc. Also, Frontal will be opening the third day of the magnificent (really) Familientreffen VI festival this July.

Last, but not least, the ebm-perverts have created a new old school/anhalt EBM compilation, which is a follow up to the few-years old Hymns of Steel compilation, by Machineries of Joy label. The new one is called Hymns of Sex, and all tracks have filthy dirty titles. That is 19 new exclusive songs about sleezy things. This will be released 24. May, and it better not have moaning in all of the songs - because some of us have a family to consider when we listen to this! In any case, this compilation is very promising, including a variety of new and old EBM bands, the cream (dirty pun?) of the scene. The track list is as follows:

      01. kant kino - what's your porn
      02. leaether strip - invade my body
      03. club amour - pain and pleasure
      04. ekobrottsmyndigheten - mina villkor
      05. darkmen - bodytalk (sm mix)
      06. lokomotiv - do it
      07. tet - damn body deception (cyber uplink remix)
      08. a.d.a.c. 8286 - fuck for future
      09. autodafeh - sex on the dancefloor
      10. umm - pay for sex
      11. pentagon - sklave (orange sector remix)
      12. oldschool union - too mellow for me
      13. the horrorist - blow the kiss
      14. ad:key - pornokratie
      15. plastic noise experience - sexuality
      16. guerilla - sensory devotion
      17. ionic vision - she is (my favourite pornstar) (masturbation mix)
      18. millimetric - porno anguish
      19. armageddon dildos - big tits (ionic size d mix)

Sunday 9 May 2010

Out Of Line release "EBM" (old school compilation)

Simply titled "EBM", this newly released compilation is the ultimate collection of old school EBM tracks. It features all the legendary pioneers (Front 242, DAF, although there is no Nitzer Ebb), and some of newer most skilled and unique bands that had recently revived old school EBM: Jäger 90, Spetsnaz, Pouppée Fabrikk, etc.

For someone familiar with this genre of music, only tracks from Jäger 90, Pouppée Fabrikk, Nordarr, Container 90, and Rummelsnuff (remixed by Leæther Strip) will be new. The remaining ones are old legendary hits, which is in a way slightly disappointing: new tracks from these bands would definitely be a treat! However, if this compilation is meant to draw more attention to old school ebm and its newer still very underground bands, by using the popularity of Front 242 and DAF, it can be justified. If anything, this 17-track collection is the ultimate choice for a old school ebm drink-beer-Jäger-and-dance/stomp fest! Uh..!

Especially noteworthy and entirely new tracks are Jäger 90 "Wir Brauchen Kein Feuer (Flagge Zeigen)", which continues to show off their skill at creating their own sound and a great catchy track, although staying entirely minimal through the whole process. Pouppée Fabrikk "SYMPTOM (Hard Cut Mix)" is another one, which does justice to old tracks by this band, as well as Volt, CAP, Menticide, and so on. Probably, this is a taste of their new album that is going to be released sometime in the near future, in which case we are in for a hard-beating treat (100% guitar free too!). "Straight Jacket" from Container 90 is another great and fast electropunk track, and "Pumper (Leæther Strip Remix)" from Rummelsnuff is very bass-filled and hard beating track with distinctive clean vocals that we have come to expect from this muscular man.

The complete tracklist:
01. Front 242 “Operating Tracks”
02. Container 90 “Straight Jacket”
03. Rummelsnuff “Pumper (Leather Strip Remix)"
04. A Split Second “Mambo Witch (Single Cut)” 
05. Spetsnaz "Apathy“
06. DAF “Alle gegen Alle”
07. Dupont “Run For Protection”
08. Vomito Negro “Stay Alive V.2K9"
09. Leæther Strip “Japanese Bodies”
10. The Klinik “Quiet In The Room”
11. Cabaret Voltaire “I want you”
12. Jäger 90 "Wir brauchen Kein Feuer (Flaggge zeigen)“
13. Pankow “Me and my ding dong”
14. NordarR "Craving"
15. Pouppee Fabrikk “Symptom (Hard Cut Mix)”

16. Signal Aout 42 “My Dream”
17. Turnbull A.C's “We can drink without having fun”